TechnologyTell

Major Snow Leopard bug could delete your data

Sections: Apple News, Mac OS X, Macintosh/Apple Hardware, Operating Systems, Security, Software

0
Print Friendly
Guest Accounts

Did you salute Major Snow Leopard Bug? If you did, you watch entirely too much just the right amount of How I Met Your Mother. But even if that didn’t get your attention, I hope you’ll continue reading because there are few things worse than losing your data.

According to numerous discussions on Apple’s support board’s, there’s a major bug in Snow Leopard that can delete all of your data with very little effort on your part.

It appears the problem is a result of an error on how Guest Accounts are handled. If you upgraded to Snow Leopard from Leopard and had Guest Accounts enabled, you might be at risk. Normally, a Guest Account will delete its own data after log-out, but at risk machines may mistakenly clear data from the previous user’s account instead.

The proposed fix is to disable Guest Accounts all together. A separate account can be created in System Preferences – Accounts, and it can be restricted via Parental Controls if necessary. It’s recommended that at the very least you take a peak inside of System Preferences, disable and re-enable Guest Accounts if you absolutely need the functionality until it can be patched.

As always, you should consult your Doctor before taking health advise to see what’s the best option for you… Right, this is Mac health, not physical health. Sorry. Those warnings are just so fun to type. Seriously though, go check this out right now. There’s nothing wrong with double checking. The last thing you want to do is lose all of your data when it can be prevented. Don’t say I didn’t warn you, several times.

Read iTWire

0
Print Friendly