Online Film Critics Pick ‘Argo’

Sections: Movies

submit to reddit

With the Oscar nomination announcement set for Thursday morning, the last critics group award announcements are trickling in.

The Online Film Critics Society (OFCS) this week gave its Best Picture award to Ben Affleck’s “Argo.” Paul Thomas Anderson was named Best Director for “The Master,” while Daniel Day-Lewis of “Lincoln” and Jessica Chastain were given top acting honors. “Moonrise Kingdom” was honored for Best Original screenplay, with “Argo” winning for Best Adapted.

The OFCS also honored Iranian filmmakers Jafar Panahi and Mojtaba Mirtahmasb, who made “This is Not a Film,” for their “act of protest against the Iranian government.” And composer Enrico Morricone won the Lifetime Achievement Award. Other critics’ groups that picked “Argo” included the Florida, Southeastern and San Diego critics societies.

Print Friendly