Improved Google Translate now supports 11 new languages, language detection

Sections: Google, Web, Websites

submit to reddit

Google Translate

If you’ve been monitoring news in another language like I’ve been doing this morning, you might have also noticed that the homepage of Google’s Translation service has undergone a bit of a makeover. And if you mess around with it a little you’ll find a few new features that haven’t even been announced by Google yet.

In addition to the thirteen languages that Google Translate already supports, it now offers translations for eleven new languages, which are Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Finnish, Hindi, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Russian and Swedish. So now you can translate text and web pages in 25 languages, plus there’s a cool new feature that lets you translate something even if you don’t know the language of origin. It’s called Detect Language, and lets you translate text and web pages without asking you for the original language you are trying to translate from. It’s a godsend for people like me who don’t know their Simplified Chinese from the Traditional, and I’m sure a lot of other people are going to like this new feature as well.

On top of that, Google Translate now shows a four part tab on top of the page with links to other features, including Translated Search, Dictionary, and Tools, which all lead to new pages offering equally helpful translating services to Google Translate users. Most of these are still in Beta, but you can try it out for yourself to get a feel of what lies ahead for Google Translate. And you know Google, even when they say something is in Beta, it’s pretty much good to go in itself and just needs some extra furnishing. Just give it a try and see how it goes.

Product [Google Translate]

Print Friendly