TechnologyTell

State of Decay infestation bug remains a problem after patch

Sections: 3D, Action, Consoles, Developers, Game-Companies, Gaming News, Genres, Horror & Suspense, Xbox-360

0
Print Friendly

State of Decay

Well this was unexpected. Undead Labs recently released a patch for State of Decay that was meant to fix a variety of issues including a nasty infestation bug. The problem was infestations could not be reasonably controlled, and it caused survivors to go missing at an alarming rate. Yesterday, Undead Labs founder Jeff Strain revealed the update did not apply properly in the majority of cases.

“The issue was somewhat confused by many people reporting improvements to the infestation issue,” Strain wrote on the Undead Labs forums. “However, reports started coming in that other bugs we had verified internally as fixed were apparently not fixed on the live version of the game. It began to look as though the people reporting improvements simply had good luck, not a fixed game.”

“I called Sanya at 2:30 PM PDT (5:30 PM EDT/10:30 PM GMT) on Sunday to let her know we had determined beyond a doubt the update was being downloaded, but not applied.”

A fix for the update isn’t something Undead Labs can immediately make happen. Strain explained once the update is in the hands of its publisher, Microsoft Studios, it can’t do anything to directly change it. Undead Labs is currently working with Microsoft Studios to correct the issue, but it’s not clear when that will happen.

“Although we can’t directly fix the problem, you are OUR players, and we’d like you to know we’re exploring ways to express our appreciation for your patience,” Strain continued.

Despite these hiccups, the State of Decay community has remained very supportive and positive.

Source [Undead Labs]

0
Print Friendly