TechnologyTell

PlayStation Network maintenance forces solitude on PS3, PSP owners today

Sections: Consoles, Developers, Game-Companies, Gaming News, Handhelds, Playstation-Store, PS3, PSP & PSPgo, Publishers, Updates

7
Print Friendly

Sony PlayStation 3 PS3Time for PlayStation Network maintenance. Why? Nobody knows! Well, that isn’t entirely accurate. I’m sure Sony knows why it’s temporarily taking away PlayStation Network access for millions of users today (March 9, 2011), but it just hasn’t revealed those motivations to the general public. This means everyone in North America and Europe just has to sit tight and make do with offline games. Dragon Age II just came out – go play that.

If you’re living in North America, prepare to go cold turkey for 11 hours. That’s how long our PSN maintenance will last. It starts at 11am EST/10am CST/8am PST. It will come back online again at 10pm EST/9pm CST/7pm PST. You can try logging into the network during that time period, if you want. It won’t do any good though. You won’t be able to play online games and you probably won’t connect to the PlayStation Store.

Europe’s PSN will also be down, though for a slightly longer period of time. If you’re in the UK, your PS3 and PSP won’t be able to connect to the network after 4:05pm today (March 9, 2011). If you’re willing and able to stay up, you can log back on and enjoy the service again at 3am on March 10, 2011. That makes this maintenance period just a little under 12 hours, which isn’t too bad. Once you pass the 10 hour mark, then another hour or two really doesn’t make much of a difference.

Please, please, please don’t let this be an indication of another PS3 or PSP firmware update. I’m just sick of those. Especially when it’s a meaningless update that doesn’t add anything new or important, and just means you’ll have to spend up to an hour not playing your PS3 so you can get online to play LittleBigPlanet 2 again. Sometimes I wonder if Sony just doesn’t release pointless firmware updates to mess with users.

Read [PlayStation Knowledge Center] Via [Joystiq] Also Read [Official PlayStation Community Europe]

7
Print Friendly
  • vinnydictive

    "This means everyone in North America and Europe just has to sit tight and make do with offline games."

    hah.. OR they can find something else to do with their time? it's just 11 hours after all, you can kill 11 hours a lot faster than i think a lot of these "gamers" realize. i'm sure not EVERYONE in North America and Europe are just sitting in their living rooms staring at their PS3's waiting for it to say "Signed In". ;p

    I know i'm being an ass, I just find it funny that so many people are SO bent out of shape that Sony is trying to fix things. Yet if they WEREN'T..those same people would just sit and complain that Sony needs to "fix things". Damned if ya do, damned if ya don't! Go outside, throw a ball. Listen to an MLB Spring Training game on the radio. Go to work. ;)

  • Radialx

    YES IS ANOTHER FIRMWARE UPDATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

  • austin

    this is bull shit. on a early release school day too. those penis lickin sony motherfuckers

  • austin

    s.o.b. why they gotta sensor me. the first #### was sh!t and the 2nd ############# was mother fu.ckers

  • taylor

    Yeahhh…. about those of us who bought Dragon Age 2… of course, for the bonus content for preordering, you have to log in to the Playstation store… offf course ._.

  • Blake

    GREAT! Perfect timing… I want my Dragon Age 2 content so bad.. and I love how they still show you the "What's Hot" section when you first log in, and sure enough… BAM! "New Mortal Kombat Demo OUT NOW!…. Oh yeah, have fun waiting until 10 pm for that sh!t! Haha.. D@mn you Sony!!

  • my name

    people… SHUT UP. DO YOU WANT THE PS3 IMPROVED OR NOT!?!?! YES!?!?! THEN SHUT THE FU*C|< UP!