‘Tis the Season Redux: Hyundai Veloster earns 5-star NHTSA score

Sections: Car Safety

Print Friendly


2014 Hyundai Veloster press shot

(Photo courtesy Hyundai)

Audi isn’t the only automaker touting crash test results this week. The 2014 Hyundai Veloster reportedly earned a five-star crash test rating from National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

According to the press release from Hyundai, this year marked the first time the Hyundai Veloster has been tested under NHTSA’s stricter crash test criteria and five-star rating system. The release said the Hyundai Veloster earned four-star ratings in the frontal and rollover crash tests, then earned five stars in the side impact crash test, resulting in an overall rating of five stars. According to NHTSA’s report on the 2014 Hyundai Veloster crash tests, the car had a 10.5% risk of rollover during rapid steering input/overcorrection moments. The NHTSA report also noted that in frontal crash testing, the front passenger dummy — modeled after a female — reported a five-star result, while the male driver dummy reported a four-star result.

Surely helping the Hyundai Veloster stay planted during the rollover test were its Vehicle Stability Management (VSM) and Electronic Stability Control (ESC) systems.

Hyundai Motor America Director of Product Planning Scott Margason said, “The Veloster nameplate was designed to bring a new, unconventional look to the subcompact car segment without compromising occupant safety. Through the employment of high-tech safety systems like Electronic Brake-force Distribution and Brake Assist and the use of high-strength, yet lightweight materials during construction, we are able to deliver a package that is unique, but safer than ever.”

The press release said standard safety features on the 2014 Hyundai Veloster include four-wheel disc anti-lock brakes with Brake Assist, which provides maximum braking force when a panic stop is detected. Also standard is Electronic Brake-force Distribution (EBD), which automatically adjusts braking force at the front and rear axles based on vehicle loading conditions. Six airbags come standard on the 2014 Hyundai Veloster: dual front, front seat-mounted side impact, and front and rear side-curtain.

The 2014 Hyundai Veloster is the eighth Hyundai model to receive a five-star overall crast test rating from NHTSA. The other seven models, according to the press release: Elantra, Elantra GT, Genesis, Genesis Coupe, Santa Fe, Santa Fe Sport and Sonata.

Print Friendly